Touring Canoe - Fibreglassing hull question from new builder

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
neil4444

Touring Canoe - Fibreglassing hull question from new builder

Post by neil4444 »

Hi,

I'm a newbie builder and have nearly completed my build of the free DK Touring Canoe. Can anyone advise if glassing the hull with tissue mat will add strength or am I best off just painting it ?

Many thanks,

Neil
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

Tissue mat is used mostly to hide the weave of thick fiberglass. The fiberglass used for this canoe doesn't really need that. 2-3 coats of epoxy will take care of that.
-Matt. Designer.
neil4444

Post by neil4444 »

Many thanks ! I'll try to post photos when finished.
hairymick
Design Reviewer
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Post by hairymick »

Hi neil,

Welcome aboard mate.

Yes, please post some piccies and tell us about your build adventues. :D
Regards,
Mick

JEMWATERCRAFT Swampgirl; Wadefish;Touring Pirogue;South Wind; P5 ;
Laker X 2, Sasquatch 16.5 T-V 15 Okwata 15:
Cobia 15 (under construction)
neil4444

Post by neil4444 »

Hi,

Here are some photos of my first attempt at the free plans.

http://photos.yahoo.com/laserelises2@btopenworld.com

There was a slight hold up after I drilled a 1cm deep hole into my index finger. When drilling the stitch holes in the hull I was using a small offcut of ply to stop any splintering but the new drill bit I was using went through both the hull and the offcut !!! Anyway I've now updated my tetanus but I'm still waiting for the nerves to grow back (hopefully) !