New guy with questions

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
Kris

New guy with questions

Post by Kris »

Hi all. I recently decided that I wanted a canoe to explore some rivers, ponds, and lakes and also to fish out of and perhaps go on a weekend float/camp trip. I have some experience with canoes, but would consider myself between beginner and novice. I looked around at fiberglass and aluminum canoes and found a few that were alright. I stumbled upon this site after stumbling upon plans for a home built wooden canoe.
I like several of the plans and would love to build them. I have very, very little wood working experience, but I'm very mechanically inclined and know my way around most tools. Measuring isn't a problem, neither is following diagrams. The only thing that concerns me is transferring dimensions to plywood. I read up on it a little, which made it seem not so bad, but I still have my concerns.
For the questions. After looking around at stitch and glue canoe/kayaks I like the designs I've found here and at boatplans.dk better than the rest. I'm particularly interested in Gander River Canoe and the SOT Kayaks. It seems obvious after a little more research that the SOT Kayaks are somewhat in-depth. What about the Gander River? Would it suitable for a first time builder? It seems to fit the bill for what I'm looking for size and weight wise, as I want to be able to carry it fairly easily if I have to. Would it be able to handle all my plans for what I want to do that I mentioned previously? If this isn't a good "first boat," what would you recommend?
Sorry for being so long winded. I guess I just wanted to make sure it was understood what my intentions and skill level are. Thank you in advance!

Kris
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »