Saw dust instead of wood flour?

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!

Is saw dust a usable replacement for wood flour?

Poll ended at Thu Sep 27, 2007 12:01 pm

Yes
100%
No
No votes

Total votes: 4

Profezzur
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Saw dust instead of wood flour?

Post by Profezzur »

After doing a lot of searching in my part of Minnesota, I have found that wooden boat building is not a past time in the land of 10,000 lakes and wood flour is about as rare as a mosquito free summer.

I did break down and bought a couple pounds from Raka but was wondering if saw dust would work ok? I've been working on the free pontoon for a few weeks now and am at the point that filling in the seams would be nice to start but I don't want to wait for the wood flour to show.

This is my first build and I'm planning on a larger one over summer, I just want to get this into the water so am I safe to use saw dust or no?

Thanks!
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

woodflour is nothing more than clean and filtered (to a maximum size) saw dust.

I used some mahogany saw dust from a local cabinet shop and it worked like a charm.
-Matt. Designer.
zeb
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Post by zeb »

jem wrote: I used some mahogany saw dust from a local cabinet shop and it worked like a charm.
Me too,begged from a local cabinet shop,Ive heard of people using real flour too!!!!!!
All The Best
Zeb
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

I've heard folks use cooking flour, talc, and other weird stuff.

cooking flour and talc will be heavier. Will it matter much in a paddle craft?

nope.
-Matt. Designer.
tx river rat

Post by tx river rat »