Scaled Down Sit-on-Top Kayak

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
izaks

Scaled Down Sit-on-Top Kayak

Post by izaks »

I'm completely new to boat building and decided to go for the Sabalo primarily for fishing and some diving. (I'm soon placing an order for the plans).

Having small workshop and not much place for storage, I was wondering if the Sabalo plans can be easily scaled down. I would think by 15%-20% to reach ~14 meters or less.

Is it OK just to take the plans and scale them down by, say, 15% or will it affect the boat design in a way that will make the boat dangerous for use?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Regards, izaks.
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

14 meters? Do you mean feet? lol...I hope you mean feet! :)

Yes, a couple Sabalo builders have scaled the length to get 14'. I know they frequent the forum. Hopefully they will contribute some thoughts. If you do scale the drawings down, be sure to only scale the length.

I've been thinking about a simple version of a 13.5-14' SOT. Perhaps I need to bump up the priority on that.

If you've never built before, a SOT may not be the best choice for your first project. That's not to say it can't be done.

But you may want to consider a set of boat shelves for your tools and as a good warm-up project.

http://www.jemwatercraft.com/proddetail.php?prod=Shelf7
-Matt. Designer.
izaks

scaled down Sabalo

Post by izaks »

Wow! That was a quick answer – my mouse was still hovering over the submit button… 8)

I meant 4 meters of course, not 14 – this was a typo. Thank you for clarifying the scale issue – I thought I needed to reduce the width as well.

I have some experience with woodworking although never attempted curvature work but I have a well equipped shop and don’t mind making mistakes while trying…can you say what are the constructions difficulties and issues to beware about?