Wadefish or Sabalo

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
PiratePete
Type of boat I like: Wadefish + Mirarge Drive.

Wadefish or Sabalo

Post by PiratePete »

I am looking to build 2 SoT Kayaks & adding a Hobie Mirage drive to them.

I have read the spots off all the builds I can find for both the Wadefish & Sabalo Kayaks.

I have never built a stitch & glue boat but am an electrician by trade & have built my own house so skills should be OK.

I would love some feedback regarding fors & against for either of these 2 boats. Reading the specs they seem to be very similar.

Thanks in advance

Pete
Tassie
Australia
LIGHT KEEPER'S KID
Type of boat I like: WADEFISH 15x32

Re: Wadefish or Sabalo

Post by LIGHT KEEPER'S KID »

The SOT debate of which model is best for what use is a highly debated issue and has many factors :roll: I have been studing these issues for a year now in both Plastic and wood built kayaks and like any other types of boats rather paddle or power each one has a very speical application and as all vessels some are Dryer than others depending on what type of weather and water conditions they are beening used in :!: In the world of SOT kayaks there is a VERY SMALL differance between what is considered a Dry or Wet Ride :!: And a dry or wet ride is some times differant to each paddler :!: These are the specs for the Sabalo and Wadefish and I will try to explain the Differance's.

15'x28" 15'x27"
bow/mid-ship/aft
15" 11" 12" 14" 9.5 10"
Max. Cap.
375# 325# (depends on build weight after build
which depends on how much epoxy
is used by builder which depends on his
on thier skills with epoxy and any
changes the builder add's)