Laker 13 Stability

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
UndertheRedwoods

Laker 13 Stability

Post by UndertheRedwoods »

Hi All,

I'm new to boats and have been lurking around this great forum for a while now, reading everything about the Laker 13 that I can find.

With all the glowing reports, I think I would like to build one but, have a concern regarding this models stability.

I realize that stability is subjective, however, having never paddled a kayak before, is the Laker 13 lack of initial stability (as compared to the Freedom series) something one gets used to and becomes second nature or is it a constant balancing act?

Thank you in advance,
Wayne
OnkaBob
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Re: Laker 13 Stability

Post by OnkaBob »

G'Day Wayne,

I wouldn't say the Laker "lacks" initial stability as such although some people have referred to it as "tippy". I have fished from mine which means I can sit in it without being 100% on guard all the time and found it fine unless there are other factors - like drifting into the mangroves :roll: . Have been caught in 15-20 knot winds and chop and managed to get home without rolling it. Tried to lean it far enough to fill it with water while practicing self rescue and found it is hard to get it that far without having to go for the full capsize.

Personally I think that a little movement is a good thing as it sharpens up the balance senses. As you gain experience in a boat like this you develop an ability to react to subtle changes of angle and automatically do little corrections all the time. This means that you are aware earlier when you need to do something more.