Materials question

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
jdzz
Type of boat I like: Sabalo

Materials question

Post by jdzz »

Hi, I received the Sabalo 15 plan for several weeks now. I am getting excited and nervous at the same time. Being a noob I am, I have several questions while gathering materials.

My purpose is to have a light and durable boat while try not make it harder to build than it already is.
1. Can I use 3mm Okoume instead of 4mm and lay fiberglass cloth on both internal and external? Does it make a lot different in weight?
2. What kind of fiberglass cloth to use? There are several on raka.com. I figured the plain weave, but want be sure.
3. Is there a different between one brand of Okoume plywood to another? Noah's Marine has "OKOUME BS1088 3MM 3 PLY A/B" for $40 while others have it $50-70. Am I looking at the right plywood?

Thank you,

JD
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Re: Materials question

Post by jem »

1) You can use 3mm but it will be harder to work with until it's all stitched up. You will save 5-7 pounds in plywood weight.
2) I'd suggest plain weave. If you want really light, use 4 ounce glass but double up on the exterior lower seams and bow & stern stems... about 2" wide extra layer.

Keep in mind 3mm ply and 4 ounce cloth will mean a lighter but less durable hull. It will be plenty strong, but not as strong as 4mm and 6 ounce cloth.

3) Jobert brand marine okoume is just about the best all around. But I think what Noah's sells is a good quality ply as well. Just be aware with A/B grade that one side of the ply will look better than the other. Pick your side before you start drawing and cutting.
-Matt. Designer.
woodman
Type of boat I like: plywood kayaks

Post by woodman »

If you smack a rock a little to hard and pop a hole in it.....wouldn't hull repair be a little harder to get to from the inside of a sit-on-top....
Wannabe

Post by Wannabe »