FIRST TIME BUILDER--NEED ADVICE

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
waterdog

FIRST TIME BUILDER--NEED ADVICE

Post by waterdog »

I AM NEW TO THIS. I USUALLY FISH FROM A 14 ' ALUMINUM JON. BUT I WANT TO BUILD THE IROQUOIS SOLO CANOE. I WILL BE USING IT IN SW VA IN THE NEW RIVER ( RATHER ROCKY IN SPOTS) I WILL NOT BE SHOOTING RAPIDS BY ANY MEANS, NOTHING OVER A CLASS 2 SET OF SHOALS. IS THIS BOAT STURDY ENOUGH FOR THAT, SHOULD I FG THE BOTTOM FOR EXTRA PROTECTION FROM ROCKS??? I DONT WANT TO BUILD SOMETHING JUST TO GET IT DEMOLISHED THE FIRST TIME OUT. I AM PRETTY GOOD WITH THE JON BOAT ONLY SCRAPING THE BOTTOM ON OCCASION, BUT THAT CANT BE HELPED IN THE RIVER I FISH IN. PLEASE ADVISE
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

Iroquois is a nice first time project.

I'd definately consider portaging around rapids rather than run through them. A properly built wood and fiberglass canoe is very durable. But to make it double-tough, there's a couple things you can do:

1) Fiberglassing the outside and even double fiberglass taping the major scrape areas.

2) Apply graphite like discussed ihere: http://jemwatercraft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=134

3) add some runners to the bottom and even the sides. These can be made of simple strips of thin plywood and glued on over the scrape areas. They will take the brunt of any hard impact. If they get scraped up, just sand them a bit, fill in any deep scars, and you're done.

You can see how drift boat guys add the side plywood strips to help protect the hull.

If it were me, I'd build the boat with taping the seams inside and out at a minimum (you can decide if you want to cover the entire inside and out with fiberglass depending on the type and thickness of wood). Then I'd cover the bottom and chine areas with an additional layer of cloth.