Okwata vs Southwind 15

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
nodiak
Type of boat I like: Okwata and Southwind

Okwata vs Southwind 15

Post by nodiak »

Hello all, I've been enjoying reading about the jem boats over the last year or so. Feeling ready to order some plans. I have been a carpenter and furniture maker for ~20 years of my adult life so hope to be able to complete a build. Also know a couple nearby surfboard glassers to help me with that stage. Ready to give it a shot!
I have access to a large bay (Humboldt Bay off Eureka, Ca.). There is about 2 hours before and after high tide for easy access from where I live. Gives plenty of time for a nice cruise or some fishing. (Anything longer just needs to end at another spot a couple miles away and load up into a truck).
I think I'm leaning toward the Okwata as it seems efficient and sleek. I don't plan on longer than a daytrip, no overnight ventures now.
My only question is its stability vs the wider Southwind 15. I don't want a longer boat than either of these.
I've read Micks excellent log of building and using his Okwata and got inspired!
Oh, my experience on this beautiful bay has been in canoes. A massive 18.5 foot old, Mad River expedition, my son and I have. And a 15' by 30" solo. I'm looking for more efficiency, better tracking. Don't need tight maneuverability.
Thanks for any input!
Don
Last edited by nodiak on Sun May 15, 2016 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mick
Type of boat I like: Kayaks and canoes

Re: Okwata vs Southwind 15

Post by Mick »

G'day Don, and welcome aboard mate.

I have been otherwise busy these last couple of years so my posts here have been less than normal. I built the prototypes Okwata and Southwind 17. Both are superb paddling and fishing boats. I think Southwind 15 X 30 would suit your needs even better.