Question about which boat to build?

Ask your questions here. Guests welcome to post!
jdfdave

Post by jdfdave »

I live on the Texas Gulf Coast, in a protected bay. We always have some sort of breeze and slight chop on the water, and if the wind gets up maybe some 1 to 2 foot waves.. I am an experienced woodworker having made several pieces of furniture and done remodeling. Which of the designs would fit best for my water conditions? I want to do some fishing and recreational paddling and exploring. I have never built a boat before.
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

All of them. :D

ok ok ....seriously...the Cape Fear should fit the bill nicely. It's slightly more difficult to build than some of the other designs because the bottom panels have that twist, but if you take your time and follow the instructions, it shouldn't be a problem.

Woodworking experience helps a lot. Working with fiberglass and epoxy has a learning curve, but it should not be a problem with our super-clear and easy instructions. 8)
-Matt. Designer.
jdfdave

Post by jdfdave »

The Cape Fear looks good, but the s.o.t. model or sit in model, and which length would you recommend? Also, what about the Escape?
Kayak Jack
Design Reviewer
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Post by Kayak Jack »

jdfdave,

Here are some thoughts for you. You mention waves & chop. You will be more secure in a semi-rounded hull with multi chines. As a wave passes under a boat, the boat will try to roll to match the angle of the wave face under it.

A rounded bottom ALWAYS has an angle to match the front or back of a wave. A flat bottom boat will heave first one way, then the other way to match a wave. A boater is tossed about as a result.

Matt will provide more detailed guidance.
Kayak Jack
Doing what you like is FREEDOM
Liking what you do is HAPPINESS