Mark's Eno

Builder show and discuss their progress.
Mark J

Mark's Eno

Post by Mark J »

Well I've bitten the bullet and got started.
I went with the 5.2 MM outdoor Luan from Lowe's.
Not bad looking stuff but once you get the panels cut you cant leave them laying out because they'll look like a tater chip the next morning.
Nothing burying them in a stack of 1/2" OSB wont take care of.
I need to order a 68 sheet skid of that stuff too. It's down to 4.33 a sheet. :shock:

Matt makes a good plan.
I had the panels laid out and cut in about an hour and a half including timeouts for 12 oz. curls.
Made my cuts with a saber saw using a 24 TPI Bosch metal cutting blade.
No splintering problems whatsoever. Cut it like butter.

The frames went a little quicker. Piece of cake.

I'm a strongback builder so I had to compensate for that in laying out the frames. I like pulling a string to set frames and get everything squared before I ever deal with a panel.

I've got a bad back folks, I aint much on rolling around on the floor.
I prefer to get it up in the air where I can just walk around the strongback.
Strongback building changes the SOP somewhat also.
I'm going with option 3 which is glassed. I'll be glassing totally inside and outside.
I wont take it off the strongback until the outside is faired and the graphite loaded epoxy is on the bottom.
I'll probally hold off on the paint as of yet until I decide just how much money I am willing to spend. Spraying Imron is an option so is rolling and tipping some System 3 Paint or Sterling. But first things first. I've never used this outdoor luan in a boat. If fairing it worthy of an expensive topcoat proves out of reach, I'll settle for something cheap and file my experience in the appropriate drawer. Right now I have a file labeled, we'll see!