Laker for a first timer

Builder show and discuss their progress.
Bruce36549
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Laker for a first timer

Post by Bruce36549 »

Started lofting on Dec 21 and managed to get the panels cut out by the 26th. Using cheap "5.2 mm hardwood plywood" from Lowes. This is my first attempt at a project like this and would rather use the cheap stuff for a learning project. They called it Luann at the store, but it looks nothing like luann to me. The grain is really rather attractive.

What with company arriving the following week I took my time and only spliced one panel a day so that I could spend more time with family.

Ran into the first glitch when I realized I had miscut the floor sections, and they were a little shorter than I would have liked. Decided they would be all right as is and went ahead with the splicing. Then when lining up the hull sides saw how I had missed a measurement when lofting.

Left quite a gap, but I was surprised at how much the FG strengthened these joints. I had planned on painting the hull anyway, so the appearance won't be an issue.

To line up the panels for splicing I laid a strip of masking tape down on the garage floor, then snapped a chalk line and measured the end points and offsets on the tape. Don't know how others do it, but this worked well for me.

Expect to start stitching on Tuesday. Wonder what other surprises await me. I'm having fun and learning a lot both from my mistakes and from reading the experiences of others in the forum here. Is there anyone who can give me some specific instructions on posting pictures? It seems I can get the link in here, but not the actual photos. What's the secret?

Bruce
Last edited by Bruce36549 on Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
I may look busy, but I'm only confused.
Bruce36549