Aussie Trapper

Builder show and discuss their progress.
ColCollyer
Type of boat I like: trapper

Aussie Trapper

Post by ColCollyer »

Well, this is going to be something new for me.
I have bought the Trapper plans from Matt, and some local Gaboon, so it's time to clear out the shed and make a start.
As I have noticed on these forums, there are lot's of different ways of approaching the same job..... And I guess Ill be no different. My background is aeromodelling and my job involves composite's with Aerosonde, but very little to do with ply.
I wish to stain the plywood blue, with cold water die, It's worked well with balsa and lasted 20 odd years.
So, here is my plan
1/ cut ply
2/ stain.... mix die in hot water to dissolve, then mix with metho. Rub into wood, possibly several times.... allow plenty off time to dry out
3/ apply resin to the outside, and resin and cloth to the inside of all panels
4/ stitch up as per instructions. Here is where I'm out of my depth, and have concerns that the ply might now be too stiff. Comments welcome...
5/ follow instructions, as per glassing outside, and taping inside.
6/ Gunnels.... no idea what wood to use, so again, open to advice. Looked at some nice white Paulwinia ??

This is going to be a learning curve for me, and I'm looking forward to it... Just need some encouragement that I'm on the right track
Cheers
Col Collyer in Melbourne
hairymick
Design Reviewer
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

Re: Aussie Trapper

Post by hairymick »

G'day Col and welcome to the darkide mate.

What part of Oz are you from?

Re the gunwhales, These, combined with your breasthooks are the heart and the strength of your boat. I don't think paulonia is up to the task. I use clear Hoop pine as gunwhales and all other timber work and have been very happy with it so far.
Regards,
Mick

JEMWATERCRAFT Swampgirl; Wadefish;Touring Pirogue;South Wind; P5 ;