The Gander River Canoe.

Builder show and discuss their progress.
Tweedie
Type of boat I like: <-- Please read instructions to the left and delete this text. Then, tell us what type boat you like! :-)

The Gander River Canoe.

Post by Tweedie »

I am the Newfie who asked Matt to put together a wine shaped stern canoe called the Gander River canoe. I am a relativly novice builder so I figured starting a string with all my questions wouldn't be a bad idea. I have already been e-mailling Matt with a few of them. I will also try to keep everyone else, including Matt, up to date on how my building is going.

I have cut the panels and plan to buttblock them this weekend. I have been hesitating on starting with any epoxy due to the temperature here ( I don't have the luxury of an indoor work shop :cry: ). The tmeperatures durring the day have been in the 50s and sometime the 40s. How well does the Raka Epoxies work in those conditions? I do have access to some indoor working area but the access is limited, so I have been putting off using it.
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

You done yet? :P

A few things you can do to combat the cold:

-Get the fast cure hardener
-The first couple hours of cure are critical. Try to work during the warmest part of the day.
-Try storing your work near a heated building if you can't store inside one. Brick is the best. You'll benefit from radiant heat.
-Try storing off the ground and covered with plastic
-Try storing in the sun or on an exposure side that gets the most direct sun.
-warm the epoxy (before mixing). Better yet, store inside the house and don't let it get cold.
-warm the wood (not as practical)