folding seat

Per request from the many Laker builders, the section is dedicated to braggin' about your Laker kayak.
toolman
Type of boat I like: the Laker freedom strip

folding seat

Post by toolman »

I used the plans for the Uncle John's folding seat but I angle sanded the legs to fit the shape of the boat.I also glued in a couple of blocks to fit the notches on the legs and gluded felt on the legs as well.ImageImage
toolman

Re: folding seat

Post by toolman »

Can anyone help me out? because of the unusually warm weather up here I was able to finanlly launch my laker .I used the folding seat that I had made but found the kayak to be unstable.I then tried it without a seat and it handled fine.I'm also new at kayaking aswell as the building so am I better off with a lower center of gravity to maintain stability or is there something I'm overlooking?
Oldsparkey
Design Reviewer
Type of boat I like: Wood boats .

Post by Oldsparkey »

You have the seat to high , it needs to be lowered to drop your center of gravity.
Lowering it should not be a problem since you decide on the height of it. That is one of the benefits to the seat besides being really comfortable on long paddling trips. That comfort is one reason I dreamed it up and sent the plans to Uncle John.
Like you , I also used some felt on the legs so it would not damage the boat. The notches in the legs are there to fit over the center rib in the pirogue. Without a center rib then the notches are not needed.

I would suggest using some cushions or anything you have at hand to use as a seat and find that right height , then lower the seat to that height.

Chuck.
Remember:
Amateurs built the Ark...... Professionals built the Titanic
Visit some fine paddlers at The Southern Paddler
jem
Site Admin
Type of boat I like: Wooden

Post by jem »

What Chuck said, You might even want to paddle it a few times to get used to it a little more. Don't chop the legs off the seat too much! :D
-Matt. Designer.
john the pom